The Journal

Shepherd inducts 27 students into its most exclusive honor society

May 2, 2021 Comments

SHEPHERDSTOWN — Shepherd University inducted 27 students from 12 different majors into its most exclusive honor society during a virtual ceremony. McMurran Scholar is the highest academic honor awarded at Shepherd. Criteria includes maintaining a minimum 3.86 quality point average and being nominated by a minimum of three faculty members and approved by the faculty at large.

Shepherd faculty created the award of McMurran Scholar in 1961. It is named for Joseph McMurran, Shepherd College principal from 1872-1882, who always regarded his role in establishing Shepherd as the most important achievement of his life.

Inductees from the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include Ashley Nicole Hess, Martinsburg, B.A. English; Allison Wharton, Charles Town, B.A. history; Isaac Vila, Kearneysville, B.A. music; Jordan Jalil, Charles Town, B.S. political science and B.S. economics; Alaina Hilditch, Falling Waters, B.A. psychology; Veronica McDade, Clarksburg, Maryland, B.A. psychology; Megan Shoemaker, Martinsburg, B.A. psychology; Carrie Goad, Capon Bridge, B.S. social work; and Kara Herber, Hedgesville, B.S. social work.

College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics inductees include Allison Beverlin, Fort Ashby, B.S. biology; Nicole White, Harpers Ferry, B.S. biology; Jackson E. Stewart, Charles Town, B.S. biochemistry; Daniel Carson, Charles Town, B.S. computer information sciences; Justin Fisher, Martinsburg, B.S. computer information sciences; Olyvea Pancerella Falling Waters, B.S. mathematics; Cameron Stephens, Bunker Hill, B.S. data analytics; and Nicholas Wissinger, Rockville, Maryland, B.S. computer information sciences.

Inductees from the College of Nursing, Education, and Health Sciences include Kaitlyn Busey, Gerrardstown, B.A. early education; Margaret McDonagh, Kearneysville, B.A. elementary education; MaKenzie Ring, Charles Town, B.A. elementary education; Emma Tucker, Harpers Ferry, B.A. elementary education; Grace Wolford, Williamsport, Maryland,

B.A. elementary education; Meghan Byers, Clear Spring, Maryland, B.S. health promotion and exercise science; and Makayla Gibson, Capon Bridge, B.S. health promotion and exercise science.

College of Business inductees are Mason L. Steeley, Charles Town, B.S. accounting and B.S. business administration; Lauren Rose, Berryville, Virginia, B.S. business administration; and Adam Weaver, Hedgesville, B.S. business administration and B.S. economics.

To view the virtual ceremony, visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XluDifLpVjg. For more information about McMurran Scholars and to view the program, visit https://www.shepherd.edu/mcmurran.